Books that can explain the theological and psychological crisis at Teen Mania


I’m still stunned by what I saw on MSNBC’s documentary “Mind Over Mania” last night.

As I’ve dealt with the impact of insular, unhealthy religious groups in my own life, I’ve read several books that have helped me tremendously.

Here’s a list that might help you sort out Teen Mania:

True Spirituality, by Francis Schaeffer

The Cruelty of Heresy: An Affirmation of Christian Orthodoxy, by C. FitzSimons Allison

I Can’t Hear God Anymore: Life in a Dallas Cult, by Wendy Duncan, who was part of the program last night

Recovery From Cults: Help for Victims of Psychological and Spiritual Abuse, edited by Michael D. Langone

By Hook or By Crook: How Cults Lure Christians, by Harold Bussell

Churches That Abuse, by Ronald M. Enroth

Twisted Scriptures, by Mary Chrnalogar

One response to “Books that can explain the theological and psychological crisis at Teen Mania

  1. Pingback: The sophistry of Hank Hanegraaff — an examination of a defense of Teen Mania | Commerce & Arts