Emerson has often gotten on my nerves, but I like this post. Give it a shot.

Reincarnated Christian

I’ve been reading Emerson. In so many ways I am not a transcendentalist. However, when he speaks in self-reliance of speaking hard words today and hard words tomorrow regardless of the chance of contradiction I want to stand up on my comfy stripped sofa and cheer!

Jesus said to let my yes be yes and my no be no and that anything other came from the evil one and God says that He shall spit the lukewarm from His mouth. I don’t think this means that we must KNOW our own minds. Who among us can honestly say they know what they want or need? Jesus was pretty clear about our need for a guide/teacher (the Holy Spirit). I don’t think that’s what it’s about at all. Nor do I think it’s a warning against deception. I think it’s a warning against delusion and self-doubt.

Emerson says it this way…

View original post 275 more words

Comments are closed.