This is so true. Fittingly, about two weeks ago I received a reviewer copy of “The Great Evangelical Recession: 6 Factors That Will Crash the American Church… And How to Prepare” by John S. Dickerson (BakerBooks). Frankly, I think I will follow the steps below because I could use a little more income.

Awakening Grace

It is no longer sufficient for church leaders to aspire to be good pastors.  Delivering a faithful sermon, devoting yourself to prayer, loving the people God has given you, and reaching out to the lost are no longer enough to determine success in modern Christendom.  If you really want to be considered successful, you need to aim to achieve “guru” status.  Because the “Christian Guru” is a relatively new gift of Christ to his church, I thought it might be helpful to write a short article describing what a “guru” is and offer a few brief points on how to achieve guru status.  As a caveat, I must put forward that I myself have not achieved guru status, so I’m not the most qualified to offer any advice on these points.  Nevertheless, I have had some success in research through a modest academic career, so I do offer the following…

View original post 492 more words

Comments are closed.