‘In words spoken hours before 9-11, hear Bill Clinton say why he could have, but didn’t, kill bin Laden’ – The Washington Post


And I’m just saying, you know, if I were Osama bin Laden … He’s a very smart guy. I spent a lot of time thinking about him. And I nearly got him once.

I nearly got him. And I could have killed him, but I would have had to destroy a little town called Kandahar in Afghanistan and kill 300 innocent women and children, and then I would have been no better than him.

And so I didn’t do it.

via In words spoken hours before 9-11, hear Bill Clinton say why he could have, but didn’t, kill bin Laden – The Washington Post.

I think I might agree with Clinton’s decision, at least in the terms he used to describe his dilemma. He didn’t know 3,000 innocent people would die in few hours after his comments, and during his presidency, he had to decide whether to kill 300 innocent people.

Comments are closed.