For those who left Mars Hill Church, and for those who stayed, and for Mark Driscoll


The song isn’t part of the brand-new album, but the lyrics say everything about where the human race is right now and especially about the controversial culture within the Mars Hill Church organization as led by Mark Driscoll.

That’s because “ordinary love” is a great goal, and when people strive to become more meaningful than ordinary love, they somehow become worse as humans beings.

Ordinary love needs to be the baseline, the ground, the default, the aspiration. Don’t tell me you have something more until you’ve proven you understand this.

One response to “For those who left Mars Hill Church, and for those who stayed, and for Mark Driscoll

  1. Hello, the reason I came here today is I saw a link from something I wrote about writing “The Bob Dylan Book Vol.1” on facebook, well I followed the link wondering how I got there. I thank you for forwarding the info about my book, which is still under construction. I had one thing to say about Spirituality…I heard a quote that said, “Religion is for people who are trying to keep from going to hell; Spirituality is for those who have already been there”

    Like