Aside

in which ‘unaffiliated, entrepreneurial Protestants’ is summed up


I strongly suspect this previous post upset some people.

If you felt personally insulted by my use of “unaffiliated, entrepreneurial Protestants,” let me explain.

No, there is no time. Let me sum up.

First-hand experience and ample observation have proven to me that crazy men can establish independent churches with little or no significant accountability beyond the leader himself.

Like I said, “If I really thought the Driscoll-Mars Hill Church disaster was an aberration, I would not have written so many blog posts about it.”

Some might say Driscoll had accountability and affiliation with outside churches. Now we all know how successful and meaningful that accountability and affiliation was — it was not, at all. It was like the government that investigates itself.

I also said, “Read Under The Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith by Jon Krakauer. It’s well-worth your time, and you’ll discover some [historical!] similarities and parallels between some of the Latter Day Saints described in the book and many of America’s unaffiliated, entrepreneurial Protestants.”

Notice many intentional qualifiers in the original. And a new contextual word in brackets.

Peace,

Colin

Comments are closed.